أسامة صفا

لبنان

يعود اهتمام أسامة الصفا بمجال حل النزاعات إلى الدروس التي تلقاها خلال دراسته في الجامعة الأميركية في بيروت. ترعرع أسامة في لبنان وكان شاهداً على تداعيات الحرب الأهلية وعلى ما عاناه لبنان من أحداث وحروب ونزاعات وأزمات متنوعة. أدرك أسامة منذ تجربته الأولى مدى ضرورة ابتعاد الشباب العربي من الفساد السياسي ومن التنافس من أجل المصلحة الشخصية وأهمية التحلي بالتعاون وخدمة مصلحة الوطن كبديل لذلك.

يترأس أسامة حالياً قسم العدالة الاجتماعية في شعبة التنمية الاجتماعية في اللجنة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية لغربي آسيا (UN-ESCWA) التي يعمل فيها في عدة مجالات، كالسياسات العمومية والحوكمة وتشريك المواطنين والمجتمع المدني في بلدان الانتقال. انتُخب أسامة أيضاً أميناً عاماً للمنظمة اللبنانية لديمقراطية الانتخابات (LADE) التي تعد منظمة رائدة في مجال الإصلاحات الإنتخابية. إضافة إلى ذلك، تولى أسامة منصب المدير العام للمركز اللبناني للدراسات وعمل لمصلحة منظمة البحث عن أرض مشتركة في كل من المغرب ولبنان والولايات المتحدة الأميركية وكذلك مكتب الاستشارات البيئية (ECO Consult) في عمّان.

شارك أسامة في تأسيس عدد من المنتديات والمنظمات، مثل مبادرة الفضاء المشترك و تعاونية تحويل النزاع – إضافة إلى منتديات دولية خاصة بمتمرسي بناء السلام – والحملة المدنية للإصلاحات الانتخابية في لبنان، والشراكة العالمية لمنع النزاع والأمن البشري، والمنظمة العربية للانتخابات الديمقراطية. كما شارك سنة 1998 في تأسيس جمعية “لا فساد” وكان أول رئيساً لها، وهي تعد اليوم أبرز المنظمات المختصة بمكافحة الفساد في لبنان.

أسامة صفا هو ميسر ووسيط ذو خبرة تربو على العشرين سنة في مجال الوساطة و تيسير النزاعات. وقد كان من أبرز مؤسسي الشبكة اللبنانية لحل النزاع في بيروت وهو اليوم ميسر سامٍ في الشبكة. له جملة من المنشورات الصادرة من كل من مركز كارنيغي للسلام الدولي وفريدم هاوس ومركز برغوف ومركز برلتسمان وفي مجلة الديمقراطية.

حاز صفا شهادتي الماجستير في التنمية الدولية والسياسات الدولية وبناء السلام من الجامعة الأميركية في واشنطن وشهادة البكالوريوس من الجامعة الأميركية في بيروت.

Oussama K. Safa

Lebanon

While attending classes on negotiation and conflict resolution at the American University of Beirut, Oussama Safa realized that he wanted to focus his career on peacebuilding and reconciliation. Growing up during Lebanon’s civil war, and watching Lebanon continue to struggle 27 years later, Mr. Safa knew from first-hand experience how imperative it is for Arab youth to move away from political corruption and competition for profit, and instead embrace cooperation for the benefit of their countries.

Mr. Safa is currently the Chief of the Participation and Social Justice Section for the UN Economic and Social Commision for West Asia (UN-ESCWA) where he works on public policy, governance, citizen engagement, and civil society in countries in transition. Prior to that he worked for UN-ESCWA as Social Affairs Officer for the Participator Social Development Section. He was Secretary General of the Lebanese Association for Democratic Elections (LADE), Lebanon’s leading NGO for electoral reforms, and held the role of General Director at the Lebanese Center for Policy Studies. He has also worked for Search for Common Ground and ECO Consult.

Mr. Safa has founded numerous forums and organizations: Common Space Initiative and Conflict Transformation Collaborative – both global forums for peacebuilding professionals, the Civil Campaign for Electoral Reforms in Lebanon, the Global Partnership for Conflict Prevention and Human Security, and the Arab Association for Democratic Elections. In 1998, he co-founded the Lebanese Transparency Association which is now Lebanon’s leading anti-corruption watchdog.  He is also a senior facilitator for the Lebanon Conflict Resolution Network.

Safa is an experienced facilitator and mediator with over twenty years of experience in multi-ethnic, labor, and social conflicts. He founded and continues to work with the Lebanon Conflict Resolution Network in Beirut. He has publications in outlets such as: Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Freedom House, Berghof Center, Journal of Democracy.

Safa holds MAs in International Development and International Politics from The American University in Washington, DC, and a BA in Political Science from the American University of Beirut, Lebanon.