شيرين ن. الطّرابلسي

مصر

رسمت الانتفاضات العربيّة نقطة تحوّل رئيسة في مسيرة شيرين الطّرابلسي المهنيّة، إذ على الرغم من مشاهد الدّمار والموت، آمنت بإمكان إحلال السّلام في المستقبل. ذلك بأنّ الصّراع، وإن كان مدمّراً، يفجّر الإمكانات البشريّة الكامنة أيضاً، ويعيد الثّقة في تلك الحركات التي تولد وتنمو من رحم الأفراد والمجتمعات. ولتحقيق ذلك، تحمل الطّرابلسي عدداً من الأهداف، لعلّ أهمّها ضمان إشراك النّساء والشّباب في أيّ عمليّة للوساطة والتّفاوض أو حلّ النّزاعات على الصّعيدين المجتمعيّ والوطنيّ.

تنشط الطرابلسي كعضوة في المنتدى الإقليمي للميسّرين لمعهد الولايات المتّحدة للسّلام (USIP ) وتعمل باحثة في فريق السّياسات الإنسانيّة في معهد التّنمية الخارجيّة في لندن. وهي أيضاً باحثة وطالبة دكتوراه في مجال التّنمية الدّولية في جامعة أكسفورد. أمّا أبحاثها فتشمل ليبيا وتونس ومصر واليمن وشمال نيجيريا. وهي تهتمّ بقضايا بناء الدّولة والأمّة، وتأثير التّحوّلات الاجتماعيّة والسّياسيّة في تعبئة الموارد، والأنماط الرّسميّة وغير الرّسميّة للمشاركة المدنيّة للشّباب.

في عام 2014، عملت الطرابلسي أستاذة زائرة في جامعة نابولي. كما سبق أن عملت مديرة مشاريع في الشّراكة الإقليميّة للثقافة والتّنمية، وهو برنامج تديره مؤسسة360 FHI . وقد سبق أن شاركت الطّرابلسي في برنامج بحثي في الجامعة الأمريكيّة بالقاهرة تحت اسم “مركز جون د. غيرهارت للأعمال الخيريّة والمشاركة المدنيّة”. إلى جانب ذلك كانت الطرابلسي عضواً في الشّبكة الأكاديميّة للنّزاهة في مصر، واللّجنة الوطنيّة للمتطوّعين في الأمم المتّحدة المعنيّة بالشّباب والتطوّع في مصر. كما عملت مستشارة لدى عدد من المنظّمات غير الحكوميّة الدّوليّة، بما في ذلك “ندوة سالزبورغ العالميّة”، و”شبكة أصحاب المنح الأفريقيّة”، ومؤسّسة “برتلسمان”، و”مركز القاهرة الإقليميّ للتّدريب على حلّ النّزاعات وحفظ السّلام في أفريقيا”، والمسوح الاجتماعيّة في أفريقيا… وغيرها.

حازت الطّرابلسي درجة الماجستير في الأدب الإنكليزيّ والأدب المقارن من الجامعة الأمريكيّة بالقاهرة، ودرجة البكالوريوس في الأدب الإنكليزيّ من جامعة الإسكندريّة.

Sherine El Taraboulsi

Egypt

For Sherine El Taraboulsi, the Arab uprisings were a major turning point in her career. She witnessed destruction and death, but also recognized the prospect of future peace. Conflict destroys, but it also unearths hidden human potential, and can restore faith in those movements that grow from individuals and communities. Ms. El Taraboulsi believes that people often overlook the effort required to achieve peace, and the balance of power required to make it sustainable. Ms. El Taraboulsi has many goals but one of her most important is to ensure that women and youth are included in any mediation, negotiation, and conflict resolution on both the national and community levels.

Ms. El Taraboulsi is currently a member of the Atlantic Council’s Middle East Strategy Task Force and the United States Institute of Peace Regional Facilitators Forum. Ms. El Taraboulsi is also a research fellow with the Humanitarian Policy Group at the Overseas Development Institute in London. At the University of Oxford she is a Fellow and PhD Candidate in international development. Her research covers Libya, Tunisia, Egypt, Yemen, as well as Northern Nigeria, with interests in state and nation formation, the influence of socio-political transitions on resource mobilization, and formal and informal types of youth civic engagement.

In 2014 Ms. El Taraboulsi was a visiting scholar at the University of Naples, where she delivered a series of seminars on conflict in North Africa, focusing on the historical role of gender in the region. Previously she was projects manager at the Regional Partnership on Culture and Development, a program operated by FHI360 and funded by USAID. Prior to this, she launched a research program at the American University in Cairo John D. Gerhart Center for Philanthropy and Civic Engagement. She was a member of Transparency International’s Academic Network on Integrity in Egypt, and the UN Volunteers National Committee on Youth and Volunteerism in Egypt. Ms. El Taraboulsi has consulted for many international NGOs, including the Salzburg Global Seminar, African Grantmakers Network, Bertelsmann Foundation, Cairo Regional Center for Training on Conflict Resolution and Peacekeeping in Africa (CCCPA), Social Surveys Africa, and others.

Ms. El Taraboulsi holds a MA in English and Comparative Literature from the American University in Cairo, and a BA in English Literature from Alexandria University, Egypt.